I Just Wanna Testify

cholecalciferol

“Friends, inquisitive friends
Are asking what’s come over me
A change, there’s been a change
And it’s oh so plain to see….”

I just want to testify what D3 has done for me
Oh, I just want to testify what D3 has done for me.

Oh yeah, there’s been a change
A change that memory can’t erase
But D3, vitamin D3, keeps that snot
From runnin’ down my face.

Are you educated about vitamin D3? There are all kinds of websites out there that either tout or denounce the ability of vitamin D3 to provide health benefits. It was difficult for me, wading through all the material, to decide whether I agreed more with one side or the other. I tend to be a skeptic (you haven’t guessed this from my cynical writings?), and being trained as a scientist, I like empirical evidence… so I decided to conduct my own experiment.

For years, I suffered from colds and sinus infections. When my son’s allergist suggested to me that allergies might be the cause of my 10-times-a-year sinus infections, I started taking prescription allergy medication, and after switching types a few times, settled on one that really does seem to keep those monsters at bay. (Regular use of a Neti Pot is also a huge help.) But the cold problem wasn’t so easily solved.

One day, while I was researching something else on the web, I came across a reference to vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) being used preventatively against the common cold. This was intriguing. For years, vitamin C has been promoted as the “cure” for the common cold, and although it does seem to provide some relief once you get a cold (or it gets you!), it never seemed, for me, at least, to do anything to prevent getting one in the first place.

After doing some more reading about vitamin D3 – about deficiency, toxicity, etc., I settled on a dose of 2000-4000 IU daily (far more than the RDA of 600 IU, but only a tiny fraction of what’s considered to be a toxic level), and added it to my daily regimen. No horse pills, these – it’s easy to consume this amount, as you can get liquid drops or very small (1/4”) capsules that deliver a dose of 1000-2000 IU.

I’ve been taking vitamin D3 now for well over 2 years, and can only think of one cold I’ve had in all that time – and I attribute that one to a short period that I’d stopped taking the vitamin. I recommend D3 to a lot of people, although they don’t necessarily let me know if they take it, or whether it helps. But my niece, who had been plagued with very frequent head colds, reported to me a few days ago that since she started taking D3 in January, she hasn’t had a single cold!

So – especially now, with winter coming on – if you hate the stuffy-head, runny-nose, scratchy-throat feeling of the common cold, try vitamin D3. It can’t hurt as long as you keep the maintenance dosage under 5000 IU daily (I go up to 4000-6000 IU if I feel any cold symptoms coming on, then go back to my usual dose within a week), and it might just keep you sniffle-free! (Of course, if you have a medical problem that taking D3 might aggravate, or take meds that D3 might interfere with, it’s a good idea to let your doctor know that you’re planning to do this – in my own experience, docs don’t “promote” D3, but neither do they say anything against it – I think they ought to give it a try themselves!)

About rangermoi

I'm a former park ranger and teacher, mother of two no-longer-teenage sons, avid cook and reader and the Official Family Memory. I thought I'd better get some of those remembrances down before they all leak out of my senior-moment-affected brain!
This entry was posted in Family, Health, Home, Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Just Wanna Testify

  1. Carole Ramke says:

    I take 5,000 or 10,000 IU of D3 per day, depending on whether I am getting any sunshine. I noticed that my skin has improved, my wrist pain disappeared, etc. It is sad that we have such widespread deficiencies and so few people are aware of it.

  2. gunxgirl says:

    Yes– I didn’t have a cold for about a year! I started taking it last January and the first time I had a cold in all that time was maybe a month ago and I hadn’t been taking the D3 regularly because I had run out of it. It *is* magic!! Thanks for the suggestion, Moi!

  3. “I just wanna testify what your love has done for me”-The Parliaments from the summer of love-1967. I will try vitamin D3.

Leave a Reply

