All Hallows Eve

Except for the local kiddies coming around, October 31st is a bit less exciting than it used to be. My own kids no longer go for the elaborate disguises that occupied our thoughts and energies in years past in the weeks leading up to Halloween. This year Number One Son (aka the Angler) sat in front of the TV watching a football game, and Pennybags merely layered on some of his more colorful articles of clothing, grabbed a Kroger bag, and went out on the prowl with his friends. Although he did come home with some candy, I think hanging out with his friends was the more attractive part of that equation.

For the Angler’s first foray out with the ghosts and goblins (a week short of 2 years old), he visited only our closest three neighbors, and even that proved to be a bit too exciting. Dressing him in the same homemade dinosaur costume the next year, I attempted to refresh his memory about the ins and outs of trick-or-treating.

Me: Do you remember last year when you went out? Dad took you over to Joyce’s house, right?

Angler: Uh-huh.

Me: So what happened? What did you do there?

Angler: I cried, and Joyce gave me a tissue.

Now there’s a practical treat.

halloween eamon

That dinosaur costume (green sweatsuit and hat with some green and yellow felt trim) was about the most labor-intensive thing I ever made for my kids’ costumes (Jerry did make an ingenious wearable fire engine that the Angler happily sported for several years during his firefighter obsession days). I was more likely to either hit the thrift shops for some items to throw together (brown shirt, pants, and curtain transformed 8-year-old Pennybags into Qui-Gon Jinn), or reprise the old home idea of costume grab bag.

halloween rory

When I was a kid, we used to beg our mom for store-bought costumes. She, being the smart and thrifty soul that she is, ignored our pleading for those those overpriced enticements. So we hid our envy when our friends happily pulled out their new cardboard boxes with the little acetate windows displaying The Mask. This masterful disguise was a molded piece of brittle celluloid that you attached to your head with a thread-size elastic band that was likely to snap about 15 minutes into the neighborhood canvass. There were two cutouts that you could presumably look through, and another very narrow slot near your mouth. I imagine that was to facilitate breathing, but what I remember best about that hole (the few times we were “lucky” enough to have purchased masks) was constantly sticking the tip of my tongue through, and practically slicing it on the edge. The rest of the costume consisted of a nylon sack that tied in the back like a hospital gown, with a design printed on it that was supposed to be a representation of your character. Unfortunately, whether you were a doctor, Spiderman, a mermaid, or a cowboy, your silhouette was exactly the same – like you were wearing a large grocery bag.

My most memorable costume was handmade – mostly by my dad, while he was relegated to bed with a perforated eardrum. He busied himself with fashioning paper, glue, glitter and dowels into a tiara and wand. Then he or my mom hand-stitched old-fashioned foil Christmas tree garland onto some old lace curtains, and voila! I was magically transformed into a fairy princess – I don’t know that I’ve ever felt so beautiful.

That broken-down box in the attic held old clothing, scraps of fabric, greasepaint, and ratty old wigs and hats – the makings of probably a couple hundred costumes (all six of us kids raided it, not just for Halloween, but also for the plays and musicals we’d stage in the backyard). Bits and pieces were combined over and over in myriad ways, allowing us to become whatever character we could dream up. I can imagine how wistful my parents must have been when we thought ourselves too old or too cool, and the costume box ended up abandoned behind the attic walls. I wonder if it’s still there.

From what I’ve seen, the commercially available costumes have become much more elaborate and realistic (and scary!), and the kids wearing them seem to be pretty satisfied with themselves. But how much creative energy do they have bottled up, just waiting to be showcased with a little glitter and glue, some rick-rack, and a scrap of blue satin?

Me in my favorite fairy princess costume, made by Mom & Dad, 1960.

About rangermoi

I'm a former park ranger and teacher, mother of two no-longer-teenage sons, avid cook and reader and the Official Family Memory. I thought I'd better get some of those remembrances down before they all leak out of my senior-moment-affected brain!
This entry was posted in Family, Nostalgia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All Hallows Eve

  1. Tara says:

    Love Eamon’s comment. I laughed out loud. I also remember that vest! I’m sure I wore it lots of times probably with the black skirt with the flowers on the bottom (my witch costume for many years.) You should count yourself lucky that Dad spent so much time making costumes for you and other things. I don’t have any memories like that of him.

  2. Cari says:

    Great blog, Moira! I also cracked up over Eamon’s comment– so funny! 😉 I also found this recollection very poignant– it reminds me of my own childhood and makes me nostalgic for those days. We too had a “magical” costume box, overflowing with old ballet recital outfits, tri-cornered hats from a trip to Colonial Williamsburg, and even some of my mom’s costumes from her childhood, among many, many other outfits, props, and accessories. I too was fond of the gypsy costume and was really upset when Fiona gave away these shiny gold ballet-flats that I coveted. They were too small for her, but they would’ve fit me and gone great with a gypsy costume! *sniff* 😉 Glad you shared these memories— looking forward to your next! 😀

Leave a Reply

