America’s Got Talent

Today, a friend posted a youtube video on Facebook that blew me away. It featured a cherubic-faced three-year-old reciting – from memory! – Billy Collins’ poem, Litany. I must’ve watched it five times in a row, and each time, I couldn’t decide whether to laugh or cry. The child’s earnestness, his joy and pride, all glowed so transparently on his beautiful, little moon-face.

It was a little bit hard to understand some of the words – after all, he is only three, and his articulation isn’t perfect – but he sometimes spoke with such expression and feeling it seemed clear that he understood a lot of what he was saying. At one point, with a little “Uh-oh!” he dropped a toy he was absently playing with, but immediately refocused and continued on with the verse. I was absolutely transfixed.

The recitation brought me back to my sons’ toddler days, when I took irrational motherly pride in their every utterance. I quickly grew bored with the traditional nursery rhymes, and helped them memorize a few less conventional poems, but they were children’s verse all the same.

From early in the nursery rhyme phase, I have a video clip of my older son at 2 sitting in his high chair, a big grin (and a lot of spaghetti sauce) on his face as I coach him through Little Boy Blue. We had only just started with this rhyme, so I was doing most of the talking, and just let him fill in the final words of each line.

Me: Little Boy Blue, come blow your…

E: Horn

Me: The sheep’s in the meadow, the cow’s in the…

E: Soybeans!

Spoken like a true son of Ohio!

About rangermoi

I'm a former park ranger and teacher, mother of two no-longer-teenage sons, avid cook and reader and the Official Family Memory. I thought I'd better get some of those remembrances down before they all leak out of my senior-moment-affected brain!
This entry was posted in Family, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to America’s Got Talent

  1. Tara says:

    I want to see that video!

Leave a Reply

